top of page

Tini Stoessel - Gente 2020 July - Translation

Normally I don't like to translate the articles I read in Spanish about her (or anyone else), but this time I made an exception since she spoke more openly about her personal life than usual. I wanted to share this article with anyone who doesn't understand Spanish that well.

(All translation mistakes are mine.)

"She says that 2020 will be "the year of the angst" within her memories. From an "unexpected social" distancing and of a personal break up. She says that "for a long time now she didn't have as much time." That she managed to "reach an unedited connection (with herself)". That "she stabilized her feelings and that today she has peace.". She says that "she re-discovered the value of simplicity". And that she is grateful for "being able to live through the raw, and deep pain, like never before" after a break up. She says that she has grown.
 
15 months of the highest speed taking her to 84 stages in two continents, and on her way she beat a national record with being the only female artist having 8 concerts in Luna Park. Tini (23) lived in that rush, learnt to welcome the crowd in six languages and to sleep on airplanes. Just before she closed the Quiero Volver Tour in Movistar Arena which she added to the tour, the pandemic violently stopped it."

- You are part of the group of people who thinks that 2020 is a year lost, or of those who were able to make the most of it?

"Like with everything else in life, both viewpoints are both real and respectable. But I believe that from all of the terrible things that we're going through something positive will always stay with us. In my case, I had no memories of living at home for such a long period, with the family reunited. I have re-discovered the value of simplicity. Suddenly we ended up having breakfast, and I didn't need to fly out anywhere. "Oh, I have time for staying, for chatting, for debating" - I thought with surprise. There is a return to the most mundane activities, and it makes me happy. I truly feel that this lock-down helped me to grow as a person. I confronted all of my emotions, of the most diverse range, without time spent on airplanes or between the rush of shows. At that point I didn't need activities to divert me from those moments where I felt like exploding. I had no choice but to process what's happening with me in a different mode, with honesty, without any background noise. And it made me grow."

- On a professional level it created an unexpected challenge...

"Absolutely. I ended up recording my album at home. And it was a different experience: thinking about each concept, "playing" with the situations, managing others' time... I even decided to start a course on music production, it was something which I have always delayed for years because I didn't have time for it. But during that process I haven't stopped thinking about my team, in the context of the economical crisis. Because the shows were part of the last items to be approved of. No one expected this to happen, nor anyone knows what will happen exactly. There's no other choice than to learn to live with the situation."

- Where do you put your excess energy into, so typical of these days?

" It's totally the opposite of what you may think based on the rhythm of my career. I am blessed with a surprisingly calm personality. I love to be at home, in my room, in my bed... I like to be alone. I'm continuing with my singing and dancing lessons via online, I dedicate 50 minutes every day to my vocal exercises. Out of nowhere I take the microphone and practice the live voice, or I take the time to go through the shows' choreography before the mirror. I move the body and rehearse for a while... I practice because I know that if on some ranges the voice can get out of tune. That's why I'm focusing on these details, working more with others' help; I'm trying to improve... That's where I put that excess energy. But I'm not hyperactive either: I enjoy the quiet."

- Do you still have your handbook with all of your personal notes. Do you write?

"Of course. I just finished writing a few songs that I really loved, like the one which may be released after Ella dice. It's one of my favourites from the album, the one which should appear, and at the right moment will arrive from the hand of one of the artists whom I have spoken during many interviews. (He) is someone, I dare to say, thanks to him I love music. I swear, I never thought that it would happen. When I sent it to him, I thought: "What is the worst which could happen? That he would say no...?". The response was unexpected. "I'm so happy, so thankful to be able to hear this song, which came from the heart, sung by this person! I still can't wrap my mind around it" (laughs). While I kept figuring out other ideas, and already had imagined the album I would be selling, evaluating the possible music directions and was thinking: "Where do I wanna go? What do I dare to do? What do I want to propose?"

- Let's talk about channeling your energy, I have learnt that you also decided to learn cooking.

"It has to do with what we have discussed before, that restlessness to occupy the time by helping in something or to someone. Of deciding: "How can I collaborate with this concept?". Through my friends, whom they were already actively helping, I got acquainted with Convidarte - a voluntary organization helping those who are in need of feeding. I spoke with them to learn what the movement was about and I became part of it. I already have the trays at home and I'm starting this week."

- At the beginning of the interview you mentioned that the lockdown made you face yourself, it forced you to work through various emotions and truly personal processes. Of which ones were you referring to?

"To my breakup for example. In other cases I was coming and going, from shows to airports, I was unable to stop to process the pain. I ended up covering it up with the rhythm of coming and going, with the obligations, the shows... And afterwards I found myself crying occasionally, when it hit me, for the sad moments... Because that's what happens when you don't have the necessary time and opportunity to connect with yourself. For a change, this time I faced the pain head on, confronted it as I should have done before. I am grateful that it had to happen this way, close to my family and to my friends calling me every day. It was a different situation, in which I found myself as a distinct person. On the other hand, we're more careful. Being in lockdown, seeing everything which happens in the world through the media, it magnifies it. The problems of which we are hearing makes us question ourselves as communities and as persons. We're re-defining ourselves."

- How do you redefine yourself?

"I feel that there is a truly great woman within this body. Since I'm 13 I lived through super crazy situations, and within this context I feel more "myself" than ever before. More stable. More sure in herself. I was always a super emotional girl: up, down, up again... But I believe that I finally found emotional stability, something super difficult for anyone. Today I'm calm, and in peace."

- What happened with Sebastian (Yatra, 25)?

"I will never reveal what went down between us, but you already know me. It is something truly intimate. But it was the best for both of us, and it is important to acknowledge it. When two people love each other, a separation isn't something cheerful. But I will stay with the best memories of everything we had. It was an incredible love story, a story that we lived through truly passionately. Maybe it wasn't for long, but it was intense. We lived through super cool things: both professionally and personally... I will remember the sweet aspects. These days, the plans and the lives of the two of us doesn't follow the same directions. That's why we decided to make the decision allowing us to follow our own path, because it was better for us. You need to understand that when you're together with someone, the determination of separating, it doesn't happen from one day to the next. A crisis always has a maturity period. We had already spoken about our feelings, about what we went through."

- The quarantine gave the final kick?

"Till February I was in Europe and in March, after closing the tour here (which was suspended due to the preventive and obligatory isolation methods), we would have gone for the duration of almost three months, filming a series together. It would have been nice to use that time to reconnect with each other as a couple. But the quarantine trapped us, him in Colombia and me here. The distance never helps: we would have needed that face-to-face discussion. We would have preferred it that way, but we didn't have the chance. We agreed that the healthiest option was to end it, and understand that it was maybe time to focus on our families. To live through the lockdown this way."

- From each of our relationships we are learning something about ourselves. What did you learn?

"My relationship with Sebas was super positive. I believe that I have learnt about the importance of being accompanied and of complicity. In that moment, finding someone who led a similar life to mine, it made me "comfortable", overjoyed. I didn't have to explain anything: not why a tour happened, nor the time spent with promotions, the reason for having so many press conferences, etc. It's very difficult, not impossible, to share a life with someone who isn't part of this micro-world. I didn't have to give explanations of my rhythm, simply because he knew well what I lived through. And the two of us had a full understanding about the other's life. We shared learning curves, experiences and growth."

- Knowing your level of sensibility and knowing that everything affects you in a certain way: how did you prepare yourself for the onslaught of international rumors concerning your separation?

" The obligation to publicly speak about the topic wasn't that comfortable. That's why we decided to do it together via our social networks, because we felt that it was the best way at protecting the relationship we had. The true and official version came from us. Just like I told you, our separation, which was a truly personal process, never had anything to do with anyone else besides us."

- Long distance relationships are your karma within this life?

" Go to...! (laughing) But I believe that it's always going to be like this, I don't have that many options. The distance is always going to be a factor in all of my relations, not only in romantic ones. The issue is to be able to accommodate it in every circle. But I don't focus on that. It's not something negative. It's another aspect of my career, and it can also bring nice things with itself. Many times it helps me secure situations or personal emotions. You learn to value more the mundane, that may only happen in everyday life... And every reunion is more special."

- Now is a good time for letting love to rest?

"I'm always really open to being in love. It's something we have spoken about since I've been really young. I always had long relationships. But this time I also feel like that I am okay. I enjoy making time for myself. Loneliness is a good friend, its healing and inspiring me. In this aspect I have also grown."

- Has the time of conquests already started? Do you receive many messages?

"I don't know if it's a question of being attracted or of something I generate unconsciously. But I don't have strangers writing me messages to ask me out nor do I have anyone who would tell me that "I made a reservation for you, you need to meet him...". My relationships always happen naturally. It has to do with me being a super relaxed girl, and everything always happens in a normal environment, not pre-arranged. I don't care about games, strategies or speculations. If I am interested in someone, I will let him know. If I am among friends and I connect with someone, I make sure to generate a relaxed environment and that everything flows. "Hey, do you want to drink wine with me?". I like it this way. The start of a relationship always happened this way for me."

- How much time has to pass in order to see you again in love?

" (Laughing) And... Since I'm like this, so open to love... (keeps laughing). At the moment I feel fine alone. In this moment of my life I take it as something positive. Love always arrives without thinking about it too much, I won't stop it nor will I search for it. If it happens, it happens. I like to let the feelings flow."

- What are you like when in love?

" Super passionate and always there for the other. That's the exact definition. I'm always available, giving love, generating the team spirit. The team of two."

- Each one of your latest songs featured surprising artists. What are you going to share today with Ella dice?

"Ugh, it's a song which was written a year ago... How time flies? It's a truly reggaetón, a hard, pure one, and it combines all of the urban sounds, the same style I used last year and it's part of my album. It closes the universe. It's a dark reggaetón, making you dance in a sensual way and including many musical information. Besides that, it's a duet with Khea, an artist who I have always followed with admiration. What makes me the proudest that we are two Argentinians featured in this single. And talking about this album - which doesn't have a name yet - I need to say that I found a different tone of voice compared to my previously used ones. With "tone" I am referring to everything to the accumulated experiences lived through from entering to the studio, the definite, the growth. I am super content with the musical search that I went through."

- You talked about an urban rhythm "dark and sensual". Does it bother you that your way of dressing up in a more sexy way is getting commented?

"I love it. I love seeing myself and that I'm seen that way. It is part of my freedom. The sureness is gained from personal and professional growth. This way of life, and everything that is still left to be discovered about me, about my potential. Everything comes from the hand of art, and I love to experiment with it. I'm only expressing it naturally just like when I'm dancing "like crazy" with my girlfriends."
6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page