top of page

La Corazonada (2020) Netflix review

Luisana Lopilato, Joaquin Furriel, Rafael Ferro, Maita Lanata & Delfina Chaves. Crime, Drama, Thriller. 2020


I actually finished the movie several weeks ago, but thanks to the pandemic I lack the motivation to be constant with the updates... Some days I don't feel like updating at all. However, I still have plans to write about the shows, telenovelas & movies I have seen over the years.

The movie is the prequel of Perdida (2018) - another ready-to-watch-Argentine-Netflix movie. Both movies talk about Police work, internal politics and crimes. Pipa is portrayed by Lu Lopilato, she's the only actor appearing in both movies.

La Corazonada, or Intention, narrates how Pipa manages to solve her first solo case. Actually, she is working on 2 different cases which makes it sometimes challenging to follow the separate plot-lines.

I have mixed feelings about the adult cast-choices.

a) Part of me wishes that instead of Joaquin Furriel someone else would have portrayed Detective Sebastian Juanez... Joaquin is known about his antagonistic roles; I have seen him in multiple telenovelas as the bad guy - i.e: Montecristo, Entre Canibales /Between cannibals - own translation/.

It made me doubt him from the start, I basically haven't even given him a chance to be a completely decent person. While he's an excellent actor, his preconceived role took away from the "enjoyment of the suspense" at least for me.


b) I had similar issues with the DOD or DEA, I always mess up the abbreviations actor - Rafael Ferro - too... He's an actor known for his pig-like telenovela characters. With him it's always about sex and having multiple "girlfriends" of varying ages during the run of any show - i.e: Un ano para recordar / A year to remember - own translation/ , Educando a Nina / Teaching Nina - own translation.

Sure, he was perfect for the role within the movie, but only if you are completely unfamiliar with the Argentinian television industry.

Now, let's move on to the "young cast": Maite Lanata and Delfina Chaves are both promising young actresses.

c) Maite is known for accepting difficult roles. She has been in the Argentine television-industry since 2010. Her first major role was in El elegido /The chosen one/ portraying the autistic daughter of the protagonist (Pablo Echarri). Within her last telenovella - 100 dias para enamorarse / 100 days to fall in love - own translation / - she portrayed a troubled teenage girl who realized that she's transgender and starts to live a male-life.

Since I knew beforehand that Maite loves difficult characters, I had a feeling from the start of the movie. I wasn't wrong. Her acting was realistic and quite on spot, again, I just simply wasn't that surprised since I have known her acting style for years.


d) Delfina Chaves was one of the best things within the Netflix series EDHA. She's a young face within the industry, with relative few popular roles. Before appearing within the movie she was part of the cast of Argentina, tierra de amor y venganza, ATAV, as more commonly referred to. Maybe that's the reason why she only had a few scenes over the run of the movie. I would have loved to see more of her, but it's understandable why they have decided to only show tidbits from the victims past...


Before rating the movie, I want to say a few things about the plot itself.

1) While the movie was engaging it was hard at times to follow which case the scene was about.

2) Joaquin Furriel & Luisana Lopilato don't have the office-romance sort of chemistry

I could believe the part with Pipa looking up at Detective Juanez, but the one night stand wasn't believable for me. I would have preferred Pipa to have something with the younger policeman who helped her with investigating Juanez' case.

3) Loved the last scene of the movie:

The moment when naive Pipa became her cynical later-self. The point where she realized that everyone has secrets, even nasty ones at times. That while one case is solved, some cases can't be solved. Or there is simply no existing solution for them.

Final conclusions: 5/10

While I liked the movie, it wasn't as engaging as Perdida. Maybe because of being too familiar with the actors chosen for the roles. I don't know. The movie had a few more memorable scenes, and in overall it was a nice crime-movie.


Luisana was still great as Pipa, it's just a shame that I couldn't connect with the rest of the cast this time around.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page