top of page

Perdida (2018) - Netflix Movie

Starring Luisana Lopilato, Nicolas Furtado and Amaia Salamanca. (Drama, Thriller, Crime)

Family drama, human trafficking and different fates.


A policewoman (Luisana Lopilato) tries to solve the cold case of Cornelia Villalba. A girl who mysteriously disappeared 14 years ago. They used to be best friends, who went on a vacation with friends during their last year of high school. The deeper she digs herself into the case, the strangers things see the light.


It is a movie with surprises, nice cinematography and a touching story. Its the adaptation of a successful Argentinian book series - Florence Etcheves's novel Cornelia.


The movie made me curious about the original books. I would love to read the novels in English or even Spanish, if I can get my hands on them. I loved that I was unable to guess exactly what would happen in the next moment. I am not saying that I received definite answers to all of my questions, but I am hopeful that the prequel will fill out the blanks in a manner of speaking.

According to Luisana: the prequel - La Corazonada - should premier on Netflix at some point this month. I am not sure how much promotion they are going to be able to do considering the worldwide lock-down, but I have the movie on my "going-to-watch-it-list" for sure.


The last time I checked the movie's direction was heavily critiqued internationally, but I didn't have any issues with it. It's a thriller, which for me means that not everything is a surprise or constant mystery, besides I am certain that there were quite a few aspects of the original work that couldn't be translated into the movie. Personally I don't think that a book adaptation needs to show everything word-for-word as it was written down - except if it is a Jane Austin novel-adaptation. Its primary role is to make someone curious about the original work, which was done by this movie.


As for the actors skills: I had no complaints. The stars of the movie for sure were Luisana Lopilato (better known as Mrs. Michael Bublé) and Amaia Salamanca (Grand Hotel - Spanish series). I wouldn't say that Oriana Sabatini, the current girlfriend of footbal player Paulo Dybala, had such an outstanding or important role as the Latin-American news outlets made out to appear. She is a name known by the younger generations, and by people who either follow Catherine Fulop, her mother, or keep an eye out for her because of her status as the girlfriend of Dybala. Her best known role was as Azul in Aliados back in 2013/2014.

This was Luisana's first movie after the two-year hiatus her and Buble went on due to their son's illness. You could tell that the actress was still struggling with the aftereffects of the life changing events. No one stays the same after going through a cancer-treatment, either as the patient or as the parent being there for your child.


Additionally, some of the scenes were shot at the Canary Islands - on one of the more remote locations within the well-known holiday islands.


Lastly, this was the first and last time that Julian Serrano & Orina Sabatini worked on the same project after their breakup. Of course they had zero scenes together nor appeared on the same promotional events...

But back to the movie: I rank the movie as 8/10. It was an enjoyable movie even with the few left-unclear-storylines.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page